Do I listen to my own advice?

Posted: June 12, 2014 in AFL, AFL Fantasy
Tags: , , ,

aflfantasySince the pre-season of 2014 started, I have been spouting words of wisdom on AFL Fantasy do’s and dont’s.
At no point do I ever claim I actually know what I’m talking about by the way.
We are now entering into round 13, the mid point of the season, the time when your team should be just about complete. It is also a good time to reflect on how well your team is going. Also the time, if you are doing well, to panic and question every trade you do from here on in.
So did I listen to my own advice?

Team from round 2 (Original Line up):
DEF: K. Simpson, D. Swallow, M. Hibberd, W. Langford, T. Langdon, M. Suckling, C. Enright, A. Georgiou
MID: D. Beams, G. Abblett, J. Watson, J. Macrae, M. Barlow, T. Cotchin, J. Polec, D. Tyson, X. Ellis, H. Cunningham
RUC: T. Hickey, A. Sandilands, T. Derickx, D. Currie
FWD: D. Martin, M. LeCras, T. Mitchell, M. Pavlich, C. Wingard, J. Caddy, G. Rohan

For starters you can see I didn’t listen about Currie not getting a game. Fortunately I was proven wrong and he did get a few games in and it wasn’t until round 7 that I traded him out.

Best Selection from the Start:
From the start has been Kade Simpson. I have always been a fan of how he plays and the potential to score big has always been there. My reasoning was he was a proven defender and new gameplay should give him more run. This has turned out true with big scores of 145 and 143 in the bye weeks and and average of 102 with only one score under 80. For a defender, this is great.

Worst Trade:
I have used the 2 trades every week so far and there isn’t a lot of grief from the results…… so far. Bringing in Aylett and dumping Enright is probably my worst trade this season. In my defence, Enright was less than impressive and slightly injured and I was hoping for the cash boost. It never came.

Forced trades:
I have been fairly lucky with injuries as well with only a few forced trades such as LeCras (to Merret), Hickey (to Jacobs) and Barlow (to N.Jones). Going to Jacobs over Mumford is the big winner clearly. As all fantasy coaches recall, the week where the Mummy was a late withdrawal killed many scores. Why did I go Jacobs? It was basically because of the inconsistency of GWS.

Surprise rookie:
Langdon is looking more of a keeper each week. In fact he was my highest scoring defender last week with 87. Yes I rate him higher than Polec mainly because he is still in my team, hasn’t capped out in value, has DPP and doing a great job.

Best POD:
Nathan Jones was brought to cover the loss of Barlow. With Melbourne having some quality players now in the team, a coach that can get the best out of any player and the fact he has been a gun for many years but gets overlooked because he does play for Melbourne, Jones was going to play and reward me. And he did with scores of 93, 115 and 135 in the following weeks.

What does the team look like now?
As of the completion of round 12:
DEF: K. Simpson, D. Swallow, M. Hibberd, M. Jaesch, T. Langdon, M. Suckling, J. Bews, K. Aylett
MID: D. Beams, G. Abblett, J. Watson, J. Macrae, T. Rockliff, T. Cotchin, D. Swan, N. Fyfe, C. Shenton, Z. O’Brien
RUC: S. Jacobs, A. Sandilands, T. Derickx, F. Thurlow
FWD: D. Martin, B. Harvey, L. Dahlhaus, R. Gray, C. Wingard, T. Walker, S. Lloyd

What’s next?
Watson will go, obviously. I will be following my own advice and bring in A. Swallow. The extra $100K comes in handy, his BE is 74 so will go up. I do want to bring in either (or all) JPK, Barlow or Stevie J. With Stevie J’s BE at 154, what I am hoping is when his price bottoms out, it should be about the same time Swallow caps out and it could become a sideways trade.

Chopping Block
Cotchin is on the block (as was Macrae until the 139) and if it wasn’t for Watson getting injured, Cotchin was gone for Swallow. Gunston and Wingard will need to be upgraded before the finals as well. Sucking and Langdon will probably go as well eventually.
Injury free I was focusing on the backline to bring in a Bartel, McVeigh or Hanley but now this must wait.

Has my team worked so far this year?
Yes. I am currently ranked 1012th overall which is my best ranking in all the years I have been doing AFL Fantasy. I scored over 1700 in each of the bye weekends by sticking to my 8/10/12 plan, team is averaging 2017.92 and I am leading the OTS League. This does mean I am now in the panic and second guess my every trade from here on in phase of the season.

Leave a Reply

